Friday, February 14, 2014

Chapter 23: Abomination at Absolute Zero

Tired of impatiently awaiting death after long, fruitless careers of failed arctic expeditions, the two retired mountaineers join in a pact to make one final push for fame and fortune: to venture to the snowy peaks of the northern wastelands and return with the hide of the elusive abominable snowman only spoken of in the legends they knew from childhood.
But soon after embarking on their frost-ridden journey and sequentially exhausting their rations of food, alcohol and sanity, they turn against one another...

TWIN BEAKS Chapter 23: Abomination at Absolute Zero
Released February 2014
Giulio Quaglieri: Guitars, Bass, Mellotron, Synth, Misc. Percussion
Mike Fanelli: Drums & Spice

Production Notes

Reluctant to dig myself out of this record snowfall, I've had lots of time to sift through recent jams to unearth this latest batch of prog rock nuggets.
Chapter 23 has already received some rave reviews: Steve said it almost sounded "rehearsed", and Terry said it sounded "angry"... High praise indeed! (For the record, I think "angry" just means lots of snare drum... and obviously TB jams are never rehearsed.)
But what do YOU think? Let me know sometime if you're bored or lonely.
What else can I say about Chapter 23? Too much mellotron choir as usual... that's kinda my thing, I guess... the mix is a little muddy, probably because there's too much guitar bleeding thru the drum mics... but here at Twin Beaks Basement Jams, we have a saying: "If you don't like guitar or bleeding, go back upstairs."
Thanks for listening,